Warning: Malware spreading through fake facebook “notifications”

Posted In News - By K.C. On Wednesday, July 18th, 2012 With 1 Comment

Beware of emails saying that you have been tagged in a photo on facebook as they may be malware instead ! This is a result of a spam email campaign to spread malware.

Once you click on the link directing you to the “tagged photo”, your Web browser is taken to a malicious iFrame script that starts running the Blackhole exploit kit. Blackhole essentially opens a backdoor to your PC for more malware.

What makes this campaign even trickier is that within four seconds, your browser suddenly loads a real looking Facebook profile so you don’t have time to figure out something just went wrong.

 

 

How to protect yourself ?

In the email as shown above check the sender. The sender’s email is from faceboook.com instead of facebook.com !!

 

Displaying 1 Comments
Have Your Say

  1. Great info ! Thanks.

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>

Email
WP Socializer Aakash Web